Crochet Bath Mitt Buddies

Crochet bath mitt buddies frog whale hippo

I made these adorable bath mitts for my two young nephews who live in Germany. My husband and I love to video chat with the little guys since they live so far away. We always seem to catch them before or after their bath time, so I thought they’d enjoy having a couple buddies to play with in the tub.

I found this free Bath Buddies crochet pattern on the Sugar ‘n Cream website. I used Peaches & Creme 100% cotton yarn for both mitts. The pattern includes instructions for making both a frog and a whale version of the bath buddies. I made the frog first and followed the pattern without changing much. Rather than adding the puffy, bug-eyes, I chose to hand embroider them with some black cotton yarn instead.

Crochet frog bath mitt buddy cotton

I changed things up a little more when I made the whale. Rather than working in the round, I turned between each row on the main piece. That way the body matched the row turns on the head and chin extension pieces, and the whole thing looked uniform. I really liked how the bath mitt looked with the turns, but they’re both so incredibly cute! After I finished the whale, I took a step back and felt like something was missing from the little guy. His eyes were sewn on, all the yarn ends were hidden, but he just didn’t look complete. Then it hit me.

Cotton crochet whale bath mitt buddy

EARS! The whale didn’t look quite finished because he was actually a hippopatamus! He just needed some hippo ears.

Crochet cotton hippo bath mitt buddy

Since the pattern obviously didn’t come with instructions on how to make ears, I had to create my own. After a bit of trial and error, here’s what I came up with:

Crochet hippo ears how-to

Hippo Ear How-to:

R1: sc, dc, 2tr, dc, sc into a magic ring; pull tight into a half-oval; ch. 1 turn (6sts)

R2: 2sc, 2sc increases, 2sc; fasten off – leave enough yarn to sew ear to head (8sts)

Repeat for second ear.

Sew one ear to each side where the head edging starts to slope down.

This bath buddy is ready for his trip around the world!

Crochet frog bath mitt buddy cotton

 

UPDATE: These little guys were so cute I was asked to make more! This time around I made another hippo and a bear. Check them out here in my new post which includes a new how-to for the bear ears.

happy smiling crochet bath mitt buddy bear

This Bear Is All Smiles :)

4 thoughts on “Crochet Bath Mitt Buddies

    • Thanks so much for the nice comment! I thought the same thing when I saw the sample bath mitts! I actually had to look at the pattern to figure out what they were. I would’ve never guessed they were a frog and whale either :)

Leave a Reply

