Crochet-Happy

My husband and I recently moved across the country. My mom crocheted us an awesome blanket as a going away present. Right before we left, she gave me a crochet hook and showed me how to weave the yarn ends back into the work to hide them if they came loose.

My mom’s been crocheting for as long as I can remember. For some reason the thought of learning to crochet only popped into my head AFTER moving over 3,000 miles from her. Yeah, real smart! Owning a craft tool that I didn’t know how to use was really eating at me. I was absolutely determined to conquer the art of crochet.

I had my hook and some yarn, but just thinking about all those loops and stitches had my brain in knots! Without my mom close by I wasn’t sure where to begin. I did the next best thing and I asked my pal google for tips on “how to crochet.” I quickly found that learning this new skill by looking at step-by-step pictures was just not working for me. The directions might as well have been in a different language and the diagrams only further added to my confusion.

I was ready to pull my hair out when I finally came across this great video tutorial by Polka Dot Posh. The video shows the basic single crochet stitch as well as a tutorial for a pot holder. The instructions are so easy to follow and the camera angle is just right!

I didn’t end up making the whole pot holder (I didn’t think the acrylic yarn I was using was appropriate), but it was a fun way to learn and practice.

The whole time I was practicing, I kept wondering why it had taken me so long to even attempt to crochet. It ended up being so much easier to understand than I had ever thought! I can’t wait to learn more crochet stitches!!

Do you crochet? If so, how did you learn? Have you ever put off learning something only to find it wasn’t as bad as you thought?

Leave a Reply

