Single Crochet Mug Cozy

After thoroughly practicing the single crochet stitch I was ready to move on to a real project. Endless hours of searching later and I just couldn’t decide what I wanted to make with my acrylic Red Heart yarn. I took a break from searching to browse some of my favorite craft blogs for inspiration. I ended up finding this crochet cup cozy tutorial by Stephanie from All About Ami. Stephanie’s cute pictures had me “hooked” (hehe, I couldn’t resist!) and I knew just the mugs I wanted to use.

Our mugs

I love our stainless mugs. They hold a good amount of liquid and have cool flip out handles! Since they’re metal, they tend to really heat up when filled with a warm beverage. The mugs get so hot that you can expect to get burnt if you don’t pick them up by the handles. I’m definitely not a fan of getting scorched, but I usually prefer to hold the whole mug in my hand. I knew I had found the perfect solution when I saw Stephanie’s cup cozy tutorial.

As instructed, I started off with a chain that was slightly longer than the circumference of my mug. After crocheting a few rows I held the piece up to my mug. I should have checked a lot sooner because the piece wrapped around past the handles. Rookie mistake. Don’t you just hate when that happens?!

Too long

Since it was too long, I pulled the whole thing apart and started over. For the next attempt I tried making the chain just a bit longer than the handles. A couple rows later and it was clear that once again it was too long. Then I made the chain end right at the handles, but that wouldn’t allow room for rows up and down the sides. The porridge was just right when I made the chain end just short of the handles.

My yarn after a few do-overs

Shorter chain

The main part of the cozy was so simple that I completed it in no time. It was smooth sailing until I tried to connect the two edges. Apparently my connecting chain wasn’t snug enough because the section became all loose and wonky looking when I added another row.

Too loose

I tried once again, made sure it was nice and snug, and had no further complications! I couldn’t decide on a button to use from my dwindling collection, so I just slip stitched the row of chains to the opposite edge above the mug handles.

Finished!

Since the metal mugs tend to sweat when they’re filled with cold beverages, I decided to add a bottom to my cozy. I made the bottom by single-crocheting rows of decreasing circles. To close up the center, I slip stitched the loop on the hook to a loop directly across from it in the circle. I continued to slip stitch opposing loops until the middle was closed up.

With a bottom

With a friend

Stephanie’s cup cozy pattern is super simple to make. Her instructions (and awesome pictures) make it a great project for beginners! Even with my many mistakes extra practice, this mug only took me a couple hours to complete!

Leave a Reply

