Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cornbread

After my gluten-free, dairy-free biscuits were a success, I decided to bake something else (I also desperately needed to use up some eggs!). I was in the mood for bread, but I didn’t want to use yeast, so I decided on cornbread. Once again I headed to my trusty New Cook Book by Better Homes and Gardens. I like using their recipes as a starting point since they are usually very basic. We like to eat really healthy, so I usually end up changing every recipe I come into contact with.

To make the cornbread gluten-free (GF) I substituted brown rice flour and tapioca starch for the all-purpose flour. We picked up some polenta from the awesome bulk section at our local grocery store the last time we were there. Polenta is coarser than cornmeal, and gives cornbread more texture.

I’m staying away from dairy (for now), so I substituted the milk in the recipe with almond milk. It’s thick-ish consistency makes for a good non-dairy substitute. It’s also a little sweet which means you can use less sugar in your recipe. I also replaced the regular sugar with brown sugar, but you could always use honey or agave instead.

With all the substitutions and changes, my yummy cornbread recipe turned out as follows:

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free Cornbread From Scratch
2/3 c brown rice or sorghum flour
1/3 c millet or quinoa flour
1/3 c tapioca flour/ starch
OR
2/3 c gluten free flour(s) of your choice* + 1/3 c starch (potato, corn, and/or tapioca)
1c corn meal, blue corn meal or polenta
1-3 tbs brown sugar
1 tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp xanthan gum, guar gum, or unflavored gelatin
2 eggs
1 c almond milk (or other dairy-free alternative)
1/4 c olive oil or coconut oil

  1. Combine all the dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl.
  2. Make a well in the center of the dry mix and add all the wet ingredients – mix well.
  3. Pour the batter into a greased baking pan.
  4. Bake at 425 degrees for about 20 to 25 minutes.
  5. Let cool and chow down!

*I recommend using at least two different kinds of gluten free flour in your recipe – in addition to the starch, or starch mix, of your choice. It may be a bit of a pain to keep multiple gluten free flours around, but the more variety you have, the better the taste and nutritional value! I’ve used as many as 4 different gluten free fours in the recipe and it’s always tasted great! I really like brown rice, sorghum, millet and buckwheat flours for baking. (Note: Despite it’s name, buckwheat does not actually contain gluten (or wheat) so it is safe for GF baking!)

When I took this out of the oven my husband said, “Sweet, cornbread!!”

Wait, one last thing! I didn’t have any on hand, but one 12 oz. can of sweet corn is a great addition to this recipe. You can also get away with using less sugar this way too! Green chili cornbread is also a favorite in this household. Simply add a 4 oz. can of diced green chilies with the rest of the wet mix. If you decide to add corn or green chilies (or both!), you need to compensate for the added moisture by using less milk. I recommend starting with about 1/3 or 1/2 cup of milk and adding more a tiny bit at a time until it reaches the desired consistency. You may also need to add 5 – 10 minutes to the baking time.

Leave a Reply

