Crunchy Granola Goodness

CrunchyGranolaGoodness

So Good, So Crunchy

There are a million and a half ways to do granola: soft, crunchy, chewy, even “bar” form. Don’t even get me started on all the possible flavor combinations either! I have to admit I love all things granola, but it can sometimes be expensive, or if you buy the wrong kind, like eating cardboard. The “high price, low taste” thing is really weird because it’s so easy to make! Granola is hard to mess up too. Even if the consistency isn’t exactly right, it still (usually) tastes good.

It’s also the perfect dairy and gluten free snack (yay, something I can actually eat!). It can be really difficult to find tasty cereal when you don’t eat gluten, so I usually go with granola. Since good granola can be hard to come by, I thought I’d share my version. This granola recipe is part Better Homes and Gardens, part experimentation and part “accident,” but it’s all good!

As the name suggests this recipe produces crispy, crunchy granola that goes great with milk (or if you’re me- milk alternatives). I spread my granola out on a baking sheet to keep the chunks small and “cereal-like,” but it could easily be shaped into thin bars. This recipe makes approximately 6 cups of yummy granola. Any less than that and it’d probably be gone in one sitting!

Crunchy Granola Goodness Recipe
4 c Gluten Free Oats
1 c Nuts (I used walnuts, pecans and almonds)
1/2 c Flax Seeds (or milled flax seeds)
1/2 c Agave
1/2 c Maple Syrup
1/3 c Oil (I used olive oil)
1/3 c Almond (or other nut) Butter
1-2 tbs Ground Cinnamon
1/4-1/2 c Dried Cranberries

  1. Combine all ingredients* in a large bowl and mix until all the dry ingredients are “wet.”
  2. Spread the mixture out onto two greased 15x10x1″ baking sheets. This will result in small granola clusters that are great for snaking or as a cereal substitute.
  3. Bake at 300 degrees (F) for 50 to 55 minutes. Most recommend turning the granola after about 20 minutes, but I like to just let it bake untouched.
  4. Remember to keep an eye on it towards the end and make sure it’s not burning!

*Note: If you are using something other than dried cranberries you may want to wait to add any dried fruit until you are done baking. I made the mistake of making this with raisins and they all burnt to a crisp within 5-10 minutes of baking. It was a weird batch to say the least!!

crunchy granola

The ingredients listed in this recipe are simply what I had on hand. Try adding other nuts or dried fruit. Some great additions to granola are: cashews, sunflower seeds, peanuts, pumpkin seeds, raisins, dried blueberries or strawberries, banana chips, honey, brown rice syrup… Ok, you get it right? The possibilities are endless!

The last time I made this I crammed all the granola onto one baking sheet and made the whole batch at once. I baked it for the full 55 minutes because it was all packed together. It was still a little bit softer than I was going for, so I threw it back in the oven for another 5 minutes. The result was a giant granola bar! Since I’m not a giant myself, I broke it all up into small chunks, yum! How do you like your granola? My favorite is with almond milk!

crunchy granola with almond milk

Granola with Almond Milk

Leave a Reply

